Skip to main content
Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation

Shane Smith and The Saints Featuring Hayes Carll Cover Texas Classic “Pancho and Lefty”

For Immediate Release August 17, 2023

Media contact for TPWF: Lydia Saldaña

Media contact for Texas Wild: Jennifer Sinski

Third Single Out From Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation Album; Pre-orders Now Available

Austin, Texas – August 17, 2023 Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation (TPWF), which launched the Texas Wild album project in May, announced today the release of its third single, “Pancho and Lefty” performed by Austin’s Shane Smith and The Saints featuring Hayes Carll. The track is produced by Walker Lukens and was recorded in Austin, Texas. “Pancho and Lefty” is available now on Spotify, Apple Music, and Amazon Music. To listen to the single, click here. Texas Wild will have a digital and limited-edition vinyl release in Fall 2023.

TPWF is also pleased to announce that pre-orders are now available. To pre-order Texas Wild, click here.

“Pancho and Lefty” was written by Fort Worth-born singer-songwriter Townes Van Zandt for his 1972 album The Late Great Townes Van Zandt. The storied song with lyrics about a bandit and his double-crossing sidekick was named Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Country Songs of All Time.” The 1983 cover, the most famous version by Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard, reached number one on the Billboard Country chart. “Pancho and Lefty” remains a Willie Nelson set staple. Shane Smith and Hayes Carll bring their rich vocals to the emotional outlaw ballad and their duet that will have Townes Van Zandt, Willie Nelson, and Merle Haggard fans singing along to its latest cover of the classic.

“I’ve always loved Willie and Merle’s recording, but the song has been very impactful since Townes Van Zandt wrote it. Everything about it represents Texas, from the overall story to the music and of course, the intricate lyrics that Townes wrote,” said Shane Smith.

“To record one of my favorite songs with one of my favorite songwriters, Shane Smith, who I’m a big fan of—and for a good cause, in my home state—it was just a no-brainer,” said Hayes Carll.

The Texas Wild album exclusively features Texas musicians, both well-known and rising stars, as they pay tribute to classic Texas tunes. The album blends traditional Texas genres like blues, cumbia, and country with modern sounds like hip-hop, R&B, and electronica. The album is sponsored by notable Texas brands Rambler Sparkling Water and Tecovas. The release also features unique, block-print-style artwork by Texas illustrator Mishka Westell. Butler, a branding studio in Austin, also collaborated on the project’s concept and design.

“I was lucky enough to catch Townes perform at the Mucky Duck in Houston, and this song means so much to so many. Pairing legendary lyricist Hayes Carll with rising superstars Shane Smith and the Saints for such an iconic outlaw staple has resulted in a truly stirring, soulful encore of a widely cherished Texas classic,” said TPWF Executive Director Anne Brown. “The creative artistry captured on this and all of Texas Wild’s featured tracks perfectly showcase the ever-evolving and enduring talent of Texas musicians.”

A full track listing will be available closer to the album release, but tracks include:

  • Fat Tony featuring Paul Wall – “(Hey Baby) Que Paso”
    • Original Track: Sir Douglas Quintet
  • The Texas Gentlemen – “(That’s Right) You’re Not From Texas”
    • Original Track: Lyle Lovett
  • Shane Smith and The Saints featuring Hayes Carll – “Pancho and Lefty”
    • Original Track: Townes Van Zandt
  • Luna Luna – “Si Una Vez”
    • Original Track: Selena Quintanilla
  • Ryan Bingham – “Possum Kingdom”
    • Original Track: Toadies
  • The Suffers – “My Maria”
    • Original Track: B.W. Stevenson
  • Shakey Graves featuring Jess Williamson – “True Love Will Find You in the End”
    • Original Track: Daniel Johnston
  • Sir Woman featuring Ray Wylie Hubbard – “Texas Sun”
    • Original Track: Khruangbin and Leon Bridges
  • Adrian Quesada featuring US and the Soul Supporters – “Say My Name”
    • Original Track: Destiny’s Child
  • Sarah Jaffe – “Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground”
    • Original Track: Willie Nelson
  • Toadies – “Since U Been Gone”
    • Original Track: Kelly Clarkson”

Additional live events celebrating Texas Wild will be announced soon. To keep up with album news, visit to sign up for updates, or follow TPWF on Instagram at @texasparkswildlifefoundation and hashtag #TexasWildAlbum.


About Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation:
Since 1991, Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation has raised and invested more than $235 million to advance Texas’ proud outdoor traditions and conserve our state’s wildlife, habitat and natural resources. Our vision is for all Texans to have access to the wild things and wild places of our state, both now and for generations to come. For more information, please visit