Skip to main content
Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation

Black Pumas’ Adrian Quesada Covers “Say My Name” for New Compilation Album

For Immediate Release September 7, 2023

Media contact for TPWF: Lydia Saldaña

Media contact for Texas Wild: Jennifer Sinski

Texas Wild Pre-orders Now Available

Austin, Texas – September 7, 2023 Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation (TPWF), which launched the Texas Wild album project in May, announced today the release of its fourth single, “Say My Name.” The track is performed and produced by eight-time Grammy nominee and winner of the 2011 Best Latin Rock or Alternative Album (as part of Grupo Fantasma) Adrian Quesada and features Uncle Roy & Spice and The Soul Supporters on vocals. “Say My Name” is available now on Spotify, Apple Music and Amazon Music. To listen to the single, click here. Texas Wild will have a digital and limited-edition vinyl release in Fall 2023.

TPWF is also pleased to announce that album pre-orders are now available. To pre-order Texas Wild, click here.

“Say My Name” was originally released by Houston’s Destiny’s Child on their second studio album, The Writing’s on the Wall (1999). It was written by Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, LeToya Luckett, LaTavia Roberson, Kelly Rowland, LaShawn Daniels, Fred Jerkins III, and Rodney Jerkins, who also produced the song. “Say My Name” was the most successful of the four singles from The Writing’s on the Wall, becoming Destiny’s Child’s second number-one single on the US Billboard Hot 100, and the song won two Grammy Awards at the 2001 ceremony, for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocals and Best R&B Song, while also being nominated for Record of the Year and Song of the Year. “Say My Name” is over 20 years old and still inspires singing along to its iconic R&B sound and catchy chorus.

Quesada is one of the most prolific musicians out of Austin, Texas. His 20-plus-year career includes playing in Brownout, Ocote Soul Sound, Spanish Gold, Echocentrics, and Grupo Fantasma, with whom he played for 15 years. In late 2017, Quesada and Eric Burton formed the Black Pumas and released their self-titled debut album in June 2019. The  Black Pumas have received six Grammy nominations, including Album of the Year and Song of the Year. Well-known as a producer, Quesada works out of his Austin studio, Electric Deluxe. In addition to Black Pumas records, he has over 150 production credits. Black Pumas’ second release, Chronicles of a Diamond, is out on October 27 via ATO. “Say My Name” follows the release of Chronicles’ first single, ​​“More Than a Love Song.”

Quesada brings his signature soul-meets-psychedelic style to the track with his guitar playing and the cover keeps the strong female vocals of the original, performed this time by Lauren Cervantes and Angela Miller of The Soul Supporters, frequent collaborators of Quesada, as well as Uncle Roy & Spice.

“‘Say My Name’” is such a Texas classic and I was intimidated to rework it, but I imagined it as a funky gospel song retaining some of the original’s bold, almost baroque elements. I was honored to work on it with Uncle Roy & Spice. Lauren Cervantes and Angela Miller (of The Soul Supporters and Black Pumas) powerfully sing the iconic lyrics,” said Quesada. “It was the most fun I’ve ever had in the studio, truly a great time, and hopefully, that translates on the record.”


The Texas Wild album exclusively features Texas musicians, both well-known and rising stars, as they pay tribute to classic Texas tunes. The album blends traditional Texas genres like blues, cumbia and country with modern sounds like hip-hop, R&B, and electronica. The album is sponsored by notable Texas brands Rambler Sparkling Water and Tecovas. The release also features unique, block-print-style artwork by Texas illustrator Mishka Westell. Butler, a branding studio in Austin, also collaborated on the project’s concept and design.

“The talented lineup of artists and tracks featured on Texas Wild are as diverse as the incredible natural wonders of our state,” said TPWF Executive Director Anne Brown. “With 11 unique ecoregions covering 268,500 square miles, Texas’ amazing biodiversity includes 800 species of fish, 634 species of birds, and over 4,600 species of native plants, and Texas Wild supports our efforts to conserve them.”

A full track listing will be available closer to the album release, but tracks include:

  • Fat Tony featuring Paul Wall – “(Hey Baby) Que Paso”
    • Original Track: Sir Douglas Quintet
  • The Texas Gentlemen – “(That’s Right) You’re Not From Texas”
    • Original Track: Lyle Lovett
  • Shane Smith and The Saints featuring Hayes Carll – “Pancho and Lefty”
    • Original Track: Townes Van Zandt
  • Luna Luna – “Si Una Vez”
    • Original Track: Selena Quintanilla
  • Ryan Bingham – “Possum Kingdom”
    • Original Track: Toadies
  • The Suffers – “My Maria”
    • Original Track: B.W. Stevenson
  • Shakey Graves featuring Jess Williamson – “True Love Will Find You in the End”
    • Original Track: Daniel Johnston
  • Sir Woman featuring Ray Wylie Hubbard – “Texas Sun”
    • Original Track: Khruangbin and Leon Bridges
  • Adrian Quesada featuring Uncle Roy & Spice and The Soul Supporters – “Say My Name”
    • Original Track: Destiny’s Child
  • Sarah Jaffe – “Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground”
    • Original Track: Willie Nelson
  • Toadies – “Since U Been Gone”
    • Original Track: Kelly Clarkson”

Additional live events celebrating Texas Wild will be announced soon. To keep up with album news, visit to sign up for updates, or follow TPWF on Instagram at @texasparkswildlifefoundation and hashtag #TexasWildAlbum.


About Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation:
Since 1991, Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation has raised and invested more than $235 million to advance Texas’ proud outdoor traditions and conserve our state’s wildlife, habitat and natural resources. Our vision is for all Texans to have access to the wild things and wild places of our state, both now and for generations to come. For more information, please visit